picture spb.jpg

Solange Brown MD PhD, Associate Professor, Solomon H Snyder Department of Neuroscience

Affiliated with the Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology Graduate Program, the Cellular and Molecular Medicine Graduate Program and the XDBio Cross-disciplinary Graduate Program in Biomedical Sciences.


Current lab members


Juhyun Kim PhD, Postdoctoral fellow

Email: Juhyun.Kim@jhmi.edu

Juhyun received his Ph.D. from Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH) in Korea.  He was awarded a National Research Foundation of Korea Postdoctoral Fellowship when he joined the lab in 2011.  Juhyun is interested in the functional organization of cortical projection neurons and in the cellular and circuit changes underlying the neurodegeneration of these neurons in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.



Kihwan Lee PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow

Kihwan received his Ph.D. from Seoul National University.  He joined the lab in the fall of 2014.  Kihwan has had a long-standing interest in neurodegenerative diseases and is currently working with mouse models of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis.

Lee Seung chan cropped downsampled.jpg

Seung-Chan Lee PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow

Seung-Chan received his Ph.D. from Brown University and completed his graduate work with Barry Connors.  He then moved to lab of Denis Paré at Rutgers before joining the Brown Lab.  


Su-Jeong Kim PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow

Su-Jeong joined the lab in the spring of 2018.



Kenji Johnson, Postdoctoral fellow

Kenji is interested in the cellular mechanisms underlying neurodegeneration in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease) and Frontotemporal Dementia (FTD). She is jointly appointed in the Brown lab as well as the lab of Loyal Goff.


Maxime Chevée, Graduate Student

Maxime is in the BCMB graduate program.  Maxime graduated from the University of California - Berkeley. He joined the lab in the fall of 2015.

Davis Regjinae cropped low res.jpg

Regjinae Davis, Undergraduate student

Regjinae is an undergraduate student majoring in Neuroscience at Johns Hopkins. She joined the lab in the spring of 2018. 



Aaron Bickert, Undergraduate Student

Aaron is an undergraduate student in Neuroscience at Johns Hopkins.

Jon Andersen 2018 cropped low res.jpg


Jonathan Andersen, Undergraduate student

 Jon is an undergraduate student at Johns Hopkins who joined the Brown and Goff Labs in 2017.  He has been focusing on the molecular changes induced by mutations in the C9orf72 gene in the neurodegenerative disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.



Nidhi Vantair, Undergraduate student

Nidhi is an undergraduate student in Neuroscience at Johns Hopkins who joined the lab in 2016.


Hyun-wook Kang, Undergraduate student

Hyun-wook is an undergraduate student in Neuroscience at Johns Hopkins. 

Oluwa Oshewa cropped.jpg

Oluwa Oshewa, Undergraduate student

Oluwa is an undergraduate student in Neuroscience at Johns Hopkins.  She joined the Brown Lab in 2017.

IMG_3559 cropped.jpg

Courtney Whilden, Undergraduate student

Courtney is an undergraduate majoring in Neuroscience.  She joined the lab in the summer of 2018.

Past lab members

Lisle Blackbourn, 2015, Medical Student, Medical College of Wisconsin

Lainey Bukowiec, 2015-2016, Undergraduate Student

Robert Callen, 2012-2014, Undergraduate student

Huston Collins, 2014, Undergraduate student

Austin Coye, 2013-2016, Undergraduate student. Then Medical Student, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Jaclyn Frandolig, 2015-2018, Research Technologist. Then Medical Student, SUNY-Upstate Medical University

Daniel Gill, 2012-2014, Undergraduate student. Then Ph.D. Student, Department of Neuroscience, University of Chicago

Dohee Kim, 2012-2015, Undergraduate student. Then Medical Student, Seoul National University College of Medicine

Taekyung Kwon, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, Yuste Lab, Columbia University

Ashley Kyalwazi, 2017, Undergraduate student, University of Notre Dame. Then Medical Student, Harvard Medical School

Brandie Morris, 2014-2015, Undergraduate  student, Then Ph.D. Student, Department of Neuroscience, Thomas Jefferson University

Zulikayida Maimaiti, 2016, Undergraduate student, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Chanel Matney, 2012-2017, Graduate student, Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University. Now at the Potomac Institute for Policy Studies.

Christopher Pope, 2015-2016, Undergraduate student

Eva Schulteis, 2011-2014, Undergraduate student. Then Analyst, Corporate Executive Board

Elliot Stryker, 2014, Undergraduate student

Saraniya Tharmarajah, 2013, Undergraduate student

Zhou Yu, 2010-2012, Graduate student, Johns Hopkins


Past rotation students

Travis Babola, 2013, Graduate student, Johns Hopkins

Jessie Benedicte, 2017, Graduate student, Johns Hopkins

Celine Cammarata, 2013, Graduate student, Johns Hopkins

Cody Call, 2016, Graduate student, Johns Hopkins

Cooper Grossman, 2015, Graduate student, Johns Hopkins

Maksim Manakov, 2014, Graduate student, Janelia Farm

Mikhail Proskurin, 2013, Graduate student, Janelia Farm

Richard Roth, 2012, Graduate Student, Johns Hopkins

Stephen Zachary, 2011, Graduate student, Johns Hopkins